Another Go-Pro Camera Mounting Option

I have been experimenting with another option for mounting my GoPro camera in the cockpit of my Beechcraft Bonanza (you can see my videos on my YouTube channel, BruceAirFlying).

Using the GoPro Jaws: Flex Mount, I attach the camera to the headrest for the copilot seat. To provide a large-diameter surface for the clamp, I bought a short section of PVC plumbing pipe. You can either run the headrest post through the PVC or just place it adjacent to the post. I place foam insulation beneath the clamp to damp vibration and to keep the clamp from rotating.

For more information about how I capture and edit videos, see Aviation Video Tips.

GoPro-Headrest-01

GoPro-Headrest-02

GoPro-Headrest-04

3 Responses to Another Go-Pro Camera Mounting Option

  1. Pingback: Aviation Video Tips | BruceAir, LLC (bruceair.com)

  2. jkrouwer says:

    Bruce, Here is my collection of clamp style mounts. After a suction mount failed twice, I abandoned them.

    The SafeRacer clamp

    http://www.saferacer.com/chase-cam-universal-clamp-camera-mount?gclid=CPnsm9PL87wCFQHNOgodkC8AcQ

    The Mini Cardellini with Noga Arm aka Israeli Arm

    http://www.filmtools.com/mini-cardellini-noga-arm.html

    Strut mount

    http://www.aerovideo.net/

    I take it that without the PVC pipe, this mount wouldn’t work?

    Jan

  3. Pingback: Cameras in the Cockpit: Another Mounting Option | BruceAir, LLC (bruceair.com)

Leave a Reply

